Memorial Hermann Southeast recognizes top physicians of 2014

Published 12/11/2014


HOUSTON -- During its biannual General Medical Staff Meeting on Dec. 9, Memorial Hermann Southeast Hospital recognized Brian Brendel, M.D. as its 2014 Physician of the Year.

“Dr. Brendel is a physician who heals through intense commitment, genuine compassion, and real concern for each and every one of his patients,” said Chief Executive Officer Erin S. Asprec. “He has had a profound impact on the lives of a great many people, and Memorial Hermann Southeast Hospital is fortunate to have him on our medical team.”

Dr. Brendel received his undergraduate degree, cum laude, from Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. He attended medical school and completed his internship training in internal medicine at The University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) in Galveston, Texas. He completed residency training in physical medicine and rehabilitation at the University of Washington in Seattle, where he served as chief resident. Dr. Brendel joined the staff of Memorial Hermann Southeast in 2012.

Other nominees for Memorial Hermann Southeast’s 2014 Physician of the Year award included Tanner Baker, M.D.; Raymond Castro, M.D.; David Crumbie, M.D.; Cat Nguyen, D.O.; Jawad Sarwar, M.D.; Wigberto Soto, M.D.; and Theodoros Voloyiannis, M.D.

In addition, Sibtain Ali, M.D. and Periyanan Vaduganathan, M.D. were recognized for providing strong leadership and guidance while serving as chief of the medical staff. Dr. Ali has served from 2013 – current and Dr. Vaduganathan served from 2011 – 2012, as well as six years on the hospital’s medical staff leadership team.

Memorial Hermann Southeast was recently recognized with the “Excellence through Insight” award for overall physician satisfaction by HealthStream, Inc. The hospital was awarded this honor for its commitment to excellence in medical staff satisfaction with a physician satisfaction score in the 98th percentile for 2013.