Governor Abbott Names Pate Chair of the Texas Radiation Advisory Board

By: Governor Greg Abbott Press Office
| Published 09/22/2021


AUSTIN, TX -- Governor Greg Abbott has named William "Will" Pate, DrPH as chair of the Texas Radiation Advisory Board. The board advises the state on radiation issues and reviews the rules, policies and programs of state agencies that regulate radiation.

William "Will" Pate, DrPH of League City is Program Director for Radiation & Occupational Safety and is the Radiation Safety Officer for The University of Texas (UT) Medical Branch at Galveston. He is a member of the State of Texas Chapter of the Health Physics Society, and previously served as president and secretary. He is a professional member of the American Society for Healthcare Engineers, a member of the Health Physics Society and the NFPA Laser Fire Protection Technical Committee, and a plenary member of the American Academy of Health Physics. Additionally, he is chair of the UT System Radiation Safety Advisory Group and a member of the Laser Subcommittee of the American National Standards Institute. He is a Certified Health Physicist and a licensed Medical Physicist specializing in Medical Health Physics. Pate received a Bachelor of Science in Biology from UT San Antonio, a Doctor of Public Health in Environmental and Occupational Health from UT Health Science Center at Houston, and a Master of Business Administration from Texas A&M Corpus Christi.